Since 2010 Community Choice Energy agencies have been providing electricity for their customers from cleaner sources at competitive rates.

“We agree that the San Joaquin Valley has a wealth of diverse clean energy resources and the human resources needed to put clean energy to work for Valley residents and businesses. We recognize the potential of Community Choice to offer local control, consumer choice, local economic benefits, and improved air quality at competitive rates. We call for an evaluation of the potential challenges and benefits of establishing Community Choice Energy in our community.”

If you are interested in joining the Friends list please click here. For a PDF version of the list click here.


John Capitman, PhD., Executive Director, Central Valley Health Policy Institute, Fresno State

Elizabeth Jonasson, Fresno Unified Trustee Area 2

Ron Manfredi, Retired City Manager, Kerman & Former Trustee, State Center Community College District

Eric Payne, Board Trustee, State Center Community College District

Ajith Weerasinghe, PhD, Professor, CSU Fresno

Dr. Sudarshan Kapoor, Professor Emeritus, Fresno State University

Marissa Acosta, Fresno State Sustainability Club

Peter McDonald, Dean Emeritus of Library Services, Fresno State University

Annalisa Perea, Trustee and Vice President to the Board of Trustees, State Center Community College District Area 5


Devin Beltran, Workforce Programs, Grid Alternatives

Rick Brown, PhD, President, TerraVerde Energy

William Bucher, Marketer,

Austin Bushree, Chief Customer Officer for Shake Energy Collaborative

Linden Coffee, Sales Representative, American Recycling

Brandon DeYoung, DeYoung Properties

Mike Dozier, Executive Director, Office of Community and Economic Development, CSU Fresno (retired)

Scott Engstrom, V.P. Corporate Strategy & Business Development, GridX

Bob Gaffney, Partner and Emissions Consultant, Advanced Emission Control Solutions, LLP

Al Galvez, Amani International

Adrian Harris, CEO, Fresno VIBE

José R Gonzalez, Proteus, Inc.

Tate Hill, Owner, Urban Strategic Enterprises

Mark Jackson, President, BlueDolphin Design & Engineering

Corey Jackson, Founder & CEO at ScrubCan, Inc.

Bill Jensen, President & Chief Executive Officer, R.V. Jensen Inc.

Jacob Kearney, Business Development Coordinator, Richard Heath and Associates, Inc.

Ron King, Chief Financial Officer, R.V. Jensen Inc.

George Kopf, Marketing Outreach Specialist, CLEAResult

Ara Krikorian, VP Commercial Development, Solar Optimum

Mike Martin, Operations Manager, R.V. Jensen Inc.

Joseph Oldham, President/CEO, New Vision Aviation

Yasmin Puga, Branch Manager, Beneficial State Bank

Mark Ramos, Business Development, BayWa Solar

Chris Rivera, Greater Stockton Area Chamber of Commerce

Darren Rose, Managing Principal for Rose Strategic Communications

Mayuko Russell, Architect, Dyson Janzen Architects, Inc.

Laneesha Senegal, Exec. Director, Vision View Partners

Al Solis, Sol Development

Tammi Stuehler, Regional Development Manager, Solar Optimum

T’Shaka Touré, CEO, Touré Associates

Ted Wells, Sutter Home Winery

JP Williamson, Community Fuels, Stockton, CA


Lineaar Akines, Founder/Owner, The Citadel

Venise Curry, Regional Director, Communities for a New California Education Fund

Trent Ebaugh, Community Outreach Coordinator for Fresno Food Commons Trust

Sam Geil, Founder, Central Valley Opportunity Fund

Jasmine Leek, Founder and Managing Director, Third City, Stockton

Tania Santiago-Greathouse, Principal Consultant, H-Trae Sustainability

Charlie Harris, Executive Director, LifeFlower

LaTisha Harris, Fresno Community Organizer

Veva Islas, Program Director for Cultiva La Salud

Anthony Molina, M.D., Board Member for Fresno County Bicycle Coalition

Samuel Molina, CA State Director, Mi Familia Vota

Artie Padilla, Exec. Dir., Every Neighborhood Partnership

Melvin Sanders, President, Good Citizens, Inc.

Jason Spencer, Founder, Generation Changers

Janice Sumler, Founder/President, Take-A-Stand

Howard K. Watkins, Fresno resident

Carmen Zamora, Parent Engagement Facilitator, PIQE

Dr. Terry Gillian, M.D., Fresno resident

Environment & Social Justice

Dillon Delvo, Executive Director, Little Manila Rising

Genevieve Gale, Founding Member, Young Fresnans for the Environment

Mathew Gillian, Executive Director, Inspiration Transportation

Yanni Gonzalez, Chair,Kings County Asthma Coalition

Laura Gromis, Exec. Director, USGBC Central California

Kevin Hamilton, Executive Director, Central California Asthma Collaborative

Pedro Hernandez, Audubon Society

Angela Islas, Disadvantaged Communities Advisory Group, CPUC

Sanjiv Kapoor, GIS Analyst, Revive the San Joaquin

Jefferson Kuoch-Seng, Board Member, Tree Fresno

Nayamin Martinez, Director, Central California Environmental Justice Network

Thomas Paddon, Regional Project Manager, CALSTART

Paul Plathe, Delta-Sierra Group, Sierra Club

Margo Praus, Stockton-Delta Sierra Club

Mark Rose, Sierra Nevada Field Representative, National Parks Conservation Association

Laura Rosenberger, Fresnans Against Fracking

Robert Turner, Conservation Chair, Sierra Club Tehipite Chapter

Esperanza Vielma, Executive Director, Café Coop

Connie Young, Citizens’ Climate Lobby, Fresno Chapter

Tim Tyner, Researcher & CFO, Central California Asthma Collaborative

Kyoko Takayama, OFA East Bay Central & Tracy GO Team

Catherine Garoupa White, Executive Director, Central Valley Air Quality Coalition (CVAQ)

Mona Cummings, Chief Executive Officer, Tree Fresno


Keith Bergthold, Exec. Director, Fresno Metro Ministry

David Criner, President, Saint Rest Baptist Church

Joseph Dondero, Director of Communications, Catholic Diocese of Stockton

Pastor Trena Turner, Exec. Director, Faith in the Valley

Jonathan Pruitt, Catholic Charities Diocese of Stockton

Jim Grant, Social Justice Ministry Director for the Diocese of Fresno


Miguel Arias, Fresno City Council, District 3

Oliver Baines III, Fresno City Council 2011-2019

Dave Brenner, Planning & Community Development, Fresno Housing Authority

Nelson Esparza, Fresno City Council, District 7

José R Gonzalez, Sustainable Fresno Division, Energy Program Administrator/Division Manager 2013-18

Ismael Herrera, Interim Executive Director, Office of Community and Economic Development, California State University, Fresno

Alec Kimmel, Transportation Planner, Caltrans

Sarah Lesnikowski, Transportation Engineer, Caltrans

Destiny Rodriguez, Measure C Citizen Oversight Committee, Fresno Council of Governments

Esmeralda Soria, Fresno City Council, District 1

Ashley Swearengin, Mayor of Fresno, 2009 – 2017

Michael Tubbs, Mayor, City of Stockton

Tom Meisch, Solar Consultant, City and County of Fresno