

Our Mission

We're working to rapidly reduce climate pollution at scale, starting in California.

Board of Directors

Lokelani Devone, Chair Venise Curry, MD, Vice Chair Elliot Hinds, Treasurer Jean S. Fraser, Secretary Susan Longville Mary Luévano Steven A. Nissen Carl Mears, PhD Susan Thomas Lisa Whitescarver

Executive Staff

Ellie Cohen, Chief Executive Officer Lois Downy, Chief Financial Officer Lauren Bourke, Chief Development Officer Barry Vesser, Chief Operations Officer

Strategic Advisors

Peter Barnes, Co-founder, Working Assets Rick Brown, TerraVerde Renewable Partners Jeff Byron, Former CA Energy Commissioner Joe Como, Former Director, CA Office of Ratepayer Advocates Ann Hancock, Chief Strategist & Co-Founder, The Climate Center

Hunter Lovins, President, Natural Capitalism Solutions

Science & Technical Advisors

Fred Euphrat, PhD
Daniel M. Kammen, PhD
Lorenzo Kristov, PhD
Alexandra von Meier, PhD
Edward C. Myers, M.S.Ch.E.
Greg Thomson, Green Solutions &
Technologies
Mathis Wackernagel, PhD
Ken Wells, E.I.T.
Ai-Chu Wu, PhD

Contact

theclimatecenter.org 1275 4th Street #191 Santa Rosa, CA 95404 707–525-1665 Senator Josh Becker Chair, Senate Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 3350 Sacramento, CA 95814

April 1st, 2025

RE: SB 57 (Padilla) – The Climate Center – SUPPORT

Dear Chair Becker,

I am writing on behalf of The Climate Center and its thousands of supporters statewide to express support for your bill, SB 57 (Padilla), which would mandate the CA Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) to create a special tariff designed to shield residential ratepayers from transmission costs associated with powering large data centers, while still supporting the state's climate goals.

The Climate Center is a nonprofit climate and energy policy think tank, do tank, working collaboratively for accelerated, equity-centered, labor-friendly climate policy in California. We know that as goes California, so goes the world. With the climate crisis rapidly worsening, we engage in cross-sector coalitions to enact bold, science-based policy that sparks innovation and channels market forces for speed and scale greenhouse gas reductions to benefit everyone.

Today, electricity costs are rising at unsustainable rates, burdening Californians. SB 57 will guarantee that the costs of grid investments required to support data centers are fully recovered from the data center operators rather than being unfairly passed on to ratepayers. By implementing this tariff, the bill aims to keep electricity costs from soaring without increasing the state's dependence on fossil fuels.

We must reduce our dependence on dirty fossil fuels. SB 57 requires the CPUC to ensure that all electricity supplied to any data center subject to this tariff be from 100% zero-carbon resources.

Large data centers will need a significant amount of energy supply. SB 57 ensures that ratepayers do not bear that burden while simultaneously supporting California's climate and clean energy goals. For these reasons, The Climate Center strongly supports SB 57.

We strongly urge your AYE vote.

Sincerely,

Ellie Cohen, CEO
The Climate Center

CC: The Honorable Vice Chair Senator Ochoa Bogh, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Stern, Co-Author Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator McNerney, Co-Author Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Allen, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Archuleta, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Arreguin, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Ashby, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Caballero, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Dahle, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Gonxalez, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Grove, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Hurtado, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Limon,

Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Rubio, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Strickland, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee

The Honorable Senator Wahab, Senate Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee