



























































































March 28, 2024

## To:

The Honorable Chair Petrie-Norris

Member of the California State Assembly Committee on Utilities and Energy
California State Capitol
Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: SUPPORT AB 3107 (Connolly) and OPPOSE AB 3111 (Calderon)

Dear Chair Petrie-Norris and Members of the Committee on Utilities and Energy,

## We, the undersigned organizations and individuals, are writing in strong support for Assembly Bill (AB) 3107 (Connolly) and equally forceful opposition to AB 3111 (Calderon).

Microgrids represent a crucial opportunity to modernize California's energy system with localized clean energy solutions that enhance electric system reliability and community resilience. Microgrids can help lower costs and improve energy affordability for all by reducing the state's reliance on inefficient, costly power lines that have been at the heart of record-breaking wildfires, numerous power outages, and endless public safety threats plaguing residents and communities across the state of California.

AB 3107 will unlock opportunities to affordably and easily adopt innovative, community-scale clean energy solutions that advance our climate goals, create many local jobs, and ensure energy security locally. Public Utilities Code Section 218, also known as the "over the fence" rule, an antiquated law from the 1950's, that currently blocks our communities and constituents from sharing clean energy locally with their neighbors, hampering their ability to take advantage of economies of scale with microgrids that could be configured to cross rights of way and/or serve multiple customers.

AB 3107 will remove this longstanding policy barrier and explicitly allow any customers and communities to form microgrids that may connect multiple properties, with permission from local governments and guidance from the Energy Commission, to meet unique community energy needs. By exempting microgrids from the definition of an electric corporation, AB 3107 dissolves roadblocks like Public Utilities Code 218, an outdated rule that prioritizes monopoly utility interests over those of communities and taxpayers.

On the contrary, AB 3111 would require any "generating capacity above 100 kilowatts or a storage capacity above 80 kilowatthours" to be "an electrical corporation," which would mean that only CPUC-governed utilities could build an operate any DER over those limits. This will take our state even further away from achieving its climate goals. Its requirements are onerous, duplicative, and only serve one purpose – to cement utility monopoly interests

and make it even harder for your constituents to access local renewable energy, in contravention to California's climate action and environmental justice goals. AB 3111 will stop all progress in expanding frontline communities' access to clean, affordable, reliable power and limit their ability to develop locally owned projects that can build wealth and spur new investment in historically underserved areas.

For these reasons, we urge you to support AB 3107 and oppose AB 3111.

Thank you,

Gregory Stevens, California Interfaith Power and Light Roger Lin, Center for Biological Diversity Kurt Johnson, The Climate Center Karinna Gonzalez, Hammond Climate Solutions Robert Perry, World Business Academy Rachel McMahon, California Energy Storage Alliance Shoshana Wechsler, Sunflower Alliance Elise Kalfayan, Glendale Environmental Coalition RL Miller, Climate Hawks Vote Ron Martin, Fresnans Against Fracking Liza Tucker, Consumer Watchdog Andrea Leon-Grossman, Vote Solar Roger Dickinson, CivicWell Karin Lease. Wildflower Revolution Timothy Ryan, Climate Solutions Advocacy Institute Rohan Pandit, Silicon Valley Youth Climate Action Joe Houde. EC Institute Paulina Seales, Santa Cruz Climate Action Network Wendi Kallins, Sustainable Marin Crystal Huang, People Powered Solar Cooperative Jessica Tovar, Local Clean Energy Alliance

Tom Graly, Berkeley Electrification Working Group Jose Torre-Bueno, Center for Community Energy

Suzanne Hume, Clean Earth 4 Kids

Michael J. Painter, Californians for Western Wilderness

Nick Peterson, Albany Climate Action Coalition

Ryan Craig, Resilient Palisades

Jan Dietrick, 350 Ventura County Climate Hub

Laura Niesh, 350 Bay Area

Will Brieger, 350 Sacramento

Eileen Mitro, Climate Action Mendocino

Craig Perkins, Energy Coalition

Karen Reside, Long Beach Gray Panthers

Wendy Ring, Humboldt Coalition for Clean Energy

Robert M. Gould, MD, San Francisco Physicials for Social Responsibility

Mari Perez-Ruiz, CADEM Renters Council

Andrew Goldenkranz, Santa Cruz Democratic Party

Frances Anderson, Democrats of SW Riverside County

F Marian Arguello, Chino Valley Democratic Club

Damon Wyckoff, Director of Operations, Calaveras County Water District

Andie Wyatt, GRID Alternatives

Jamie Charles, Sunnova

Mark Rhoades, Rhoades Planning Group

Allie Detrio, Microgrid Resources Coalition

Jean Woo, Custom Power Solar

David Seller, NV5

Brooke Conner, Solcha

Gopal Shanker, Recolte Energy

Drew Hudson, 198 Methods

Amy Atchley, Amy's Roofing and Solar

Richard McCann, Cubed

Carolyn Alt, Valta Energy

Thinus Venter, GoGetIt

Reuben Ly, Al Sun, Inc.

Bernard Venter, BPi

Leila Banijamali, Symbium

Adam Gerza, Energy Toolbase

David Vincent, ACIP Energy

## **Individuals**

Mayor Courtney Welch, City of Emeryville

Mayor Lisa Diaz Nash, City of San Mateo

Mayor James Coleman, City of South San Francisco

Vice Mayor Harvey Rarback, City of Half Moon Bay

Councilmember Dennis Pocekay, City of Petaluma

Councilmember Chance Cutrano, Town of Fairfax

Councilmember Sukhdeep Kaur, City of Emeryville

Councilmember Alison Hicks, City of Mountain View

Councilmember Scott Sakakihara, City of Union City

Councilmember Daniel Goldstein, City of Hayward

Councilmember Gabriel Quinto, City of El Cerrito

Councilmember Sukhdeep Kaur, City of Emeryville

President Caitlin Quinn, Petaluma City Schools

Trustee Nicky Gonzalez Yuen, Peralta Community College Board

Trustee Mary Ann Lutz, Citrus College Board

Director Jennifer Shanoski, Berkeley Unified School District

Trustee Regina Chagolla, Emery Unified School District

Director Scot Jafe, Albany Unified School District

Boardmember Valarie Bachelor, Oakland Unified School District

Director Ed Hernandez, Eden Health District

Director Harry Wiener, West County Wastewater

Commissioner Vanessa Marrero, Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board

Commissioner Ida Martinac, Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board

Councilmember Andrew Lewis, North Westwood Neighborhood Council

Norma Alcala, President, California Demoratic Council

Margaret Okuzumi, California Democratic Party Executive Board Member

Koreen Cea, California Democratic Party Elected Delegate (AD 52)

Dale Axelrod, Sonoma County Democratic Party, Chair – Outreach, Advocacy, & Legislation Committee

Pepe Barr, Electrician

Lauri Kemper, Registered Civil Engineer

Phill Carter, Founder, environment.wiki

Vincent Casalaina, Willard Neighborhood Association (as individual)

David Sonneborn, Emeritus Professor

Anthony Wexler, Distinguished Professor and Director, UC Davis

Jenna Blaustein GCFP, RNP

Leslie Gollub, individual

Steve Brown, individual

Dency Nelson, individual

T L Rosenberg, individual

Marcia Edelen, individual

Emily Brandt, individual

Bill Woodbridge, individual

Keith Umemoto, individual

Clara McKenzie, individual