



June 23, 2023

Assembly Member Laura Friedman Chair of the Transportation Committee 1020 N Street Room 112 Sacramento, California 95814

## Re: SB 233 (Skinner) - SUPPORT

Dear Chair Friedman,

We are writing in support of SB 233, an urgent and important bill to address California's electricity reliability crisis.

SB 233 will enable California to address multiple challenges at once through harnessing the untapped battery storage capacity of electric vehicles (EVs). The electrification of transportation creates a once-in-a-generation opportunity for EVs to not only decarbonize transportation, but also keep the lights on during power outages, lower energy bills for Californians, and make our electricity system more reliable on a daily basis.

EVs capable of bidirectional charging can store abundant renewable energy when it is available and provide power back to the grid at peak times when it is most needed. Widespread adoption of bidirectional EVs will help California phase out fossil fuel-powered backup generators and reduce reliance on polluting power plants, many of which are sited in low-income communities that already suffer the most from air pollution and power outages.

SB 233 will ensure that Californian taxpayers get maximum value out of EV investments so that everyone can benefit from more reliable electricity, cleaner air, and a more equitable energy system.

Sincerely,

Ellie Cohen CEO The Climate Center

Daniel Barad Western States Policy Manager Union of Concerned Scientists Steve Letendre VP Policy and Regulatory Affairs NUVVE

Sahm White Policy Advisor 350 Bay Area

Alan Weiner Chapter Lead 350 Conejo / San Fernando Valley

Daniel Chandler Steering Committee Member 350 Humboldt

Sherry Lear Organizer 350 South Bay Los Angeles

Sherry Lear Steering Committee 350 Southland Legislative Alliance

Jan Dietrick Policy Team Leader 350 Ventura County Climate Hub

Susan Penner Co-Chair, Legislative Working Group 1000 Grandmothers for Future Generations

David Diaz Executive Director Active San Gabriel Valley Kitty Adams Executive Director Adopt a Charger

Igor Tregub Chair Alameda County Democratic Party

Katie Huffling Executive Director Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments

Barbara Brydolf President and Conservation Chair Alta Peak Chapter, California Native Plant Society

Cecilia V. Estolano President and CEO Better World Group

Ruben Aronin Director California Business Alliance for a Clean Economy

Micah Perlin Director California Climate Voters

Melissa Romero Senior Legislative Manager California Environmental Voters

Allis Druffel Southern California Director California Interfaith Power & Light

Scarlett Russell Programs Coordinator California Nurses for Environmental Health and Justice Rabbi Julie Saxe-Taller Lead Organizer California Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism (RAC-CA)

Roger Lin Senior Attorney Center for Biological Diversity

Marven Norman Policy Coordinator Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice (CCAEJ)

Jose Torre-Bueno Executive Director Center for Community Energy

Arthur Bowman III Policy Director Center for Environmental Health

Kevin D Hamilton Executive Director Central California Asthma Collaborative

Ana Rosa Rizo-Centino Network Manager Central Coast Climate Justice Network

David N. Patterson, P.E., Executive Director CHAdeMO Association

Wendy Legacki Activist Citizens' Climate Lobby Laura D. Hernandez City Council City of Port Hueneme

Roger Dickinson Policy Director CivicWell

Craig Lewis Executive Director Clean Coalition

Suzanne Hume Educational Director & Founder CleanEarth4Kids.org

Janet Cox CEO Climate Action California

Sara Zimmerman Executive Director Climate Equity Policy Center

Ashley McClure, MD Co-founder, Co-Director Climate Health Now

Glen Garfunkel Co-Chair Climate Reality Project (Silicon Valley Chapter)

Enrique Huerta Legislative Director Climate Resolve

Bill Magavern Policy Director Coalition for Clean Air Michael Chiacos Director of Climate Policy Community Environmental Council

Johannes Troost Board Member Cool Davis

Irene Kao Executive Director Courage California

John Sarter West Coast Onboarding and Support Lead DCBEL

Lori Pesante Civic Engagement Director Dolores Huerta Foundation

Brian Steward Co-Founder Electrify Now

Dan Silver Executive Director Endangered Habitats League

Laura Deehan State Director Environment California

Bill Allayaud California Director of Government Affairs Environmental Working Group Alon Doron President EV-SEg

Jeannine Pearce Founder Fierce Courage Consulting

Miriam Eide Coordinating Director Fossil Free California

Jim Lindburg Legislative Consultant Friends Committee on Legislation of California

Alicia Hamann Executive Director Friends of the Eel River

Elise Kalfayan Board Member Glendale Environmental Coalition

Andrea Marpillero-Colomina Sustainable Communities Program Director GreenLatinos

Caroline Henderson Project Lead California Climate Campaign, Greenpeace USA

Zainab Badi Workforce Policy Project Manager GRID Alternatives

Greg Rosen Founder & Principal High Noon Advisors Solange Gould Co-Director Human Impact Partners

Susan Morgan Founder and Director Indivisible Marin

Doug Bender Member, Steering Committee Indivisible South Bay LA

Russell Hancock President & Chief Executive Officer Joint Venture Silicon Valley

Mark D'Andrea Principle KLM Consulting

Sam Plunkett Director of Mobility Leap

David J Harris Owner Legacy Solutions

Benjamin Eichert Director Let's Green CA!

Jessica Tovar Lead Organizer Local Clean Energy Alliance Dave Shukla Operations Director Long Beach Alliance for Clean Energy

Adam Lane Vice President, Government Affairs Los Angeles Business Council

Erin Coutts, AICP Candidate Executive Director Los Angeles Regional Collaborative for Climate Action and Sustainability (LARC)

Regina Q. Banks Director Lutheran Office of Public Policy California

Steve Bardwell President Morongo Basin Conservation Association

Eli Lipmen Executive Director Move LA

Cecelia Sullivan President North Bay Electric Auto Association

Debbie Mytels Chair Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action (PICA)

Ingrid Malmgren Policy Director Plug In America

Bill Sive West Coast Coordinator Queers 4 Climate Gopal Shanker President Récolte Energy

Matt Simmons Co-Director Redwood Coalition for Climate & Environmental Responsibility

Artie Valencia Community Organizer and Government Liaison Restore the Delta

Julia Hatton President & CEO Rising Sun Center for Opportunity

Sara Nelson Executive Director Romero Institute

Kathy Schaeffer Legislative Coordinator San Fernando Valley Climate Reality

Robert M. Gould, MD President San Francisco Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility

Rachel Altman Administrator Santa Barbara Standing Rock Coalition

Pauline Seales Organizer Santa Cruz Climate Action Network

Sakereh Carter Senior Policy Advocate Sierra Club CA Amanda Bancroft President Silicon Valley Youth Climate Action

Nathan Taft Senior Digital Campaigner Stand.earth

Shoshana Wechsler Co-Coordinator Sunflower Alliance

Stuart Wood PhD Executive Director Sustainable Claremont

Robert Perry Principal Analyst Synergistic Solutions

Rick Brown, PhD, Chair of the Board Terra Verde Energy

Manuel J. Espinosa Principal The Phoenix Group

Evan Minton CA State Policy & Programmatic Manager Voices for Progress

Stephanie Doyle California Regulatory Director Vote Solar

Rinaldo Brutoco President World Business Academy Lynne Nittler Current Leader Yolo Interfaith Alliance for Climate Justice