

Adept a Charger



















SANTA BARBARA STANDING ROCK COALITION









Concerned Scientists













SUNPOWER®





















Alta Peak Chapter **&** California Native Plant Society



























































April 12, 2023

The Honorable Steven Bradford Chair, Senate Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee 1021 O Street, Room 3350 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: SB 233 (Skinner) - SUPPORT

Dear Chair Bradford,

We are writing in support of SB 233, an urgent and important bill to address California's electricity reliability crisis.

SB 233 will enable California to address multiple challenges at once through harnessing the untapped battery storage capacity of electric vehicles (EVs). The electrification of transportation creates a once-in-a-generation opportunity for EVs to not only decarbonize transportation, but also keep the lights on during power outages, lower energy bills for Californians, and make our electricity system more reliable on a daily basis.

EVs capable of bidirectional charging can store abundant renewable energy when it is available and provide power back to the grid at peak times when it is most needed. Widespread adoption of bidirectional EVs will help California phase out fossil fuel-powered backup generators and reduce reliance on polluting power plants, many of which are sited in low-income communities that already suffer the most from air pollution and power outages.

SB 233 will ensure that Californian taxpayers get maximum value out of EV investments so that everyone can benefit from more reliable electricity, cleaner air, and a more equitable energy system.

Sincerely,

Ellie Cohen CEO The Climate Center

Sahm White Policy Advisor 350 Bay Area Sherry Lear Steering Committee 350 Southland Legislative Alliance

Jan Dietrick Policy Team Leader 350 Ventura County Climate Hub

David Diaz Executive Director Active San Gabriel Valley

Kitty Adams Executive Director Adopt a Charger

Katie Huffling
Executive Director
Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments

Barbara Brydolf President and Conservation Chair Alta Peak Chapter, California Native Plant Society

Cecilia V. Estolano President and CEO Better World Group

Ruben Aronin Director California Business Alliance for a Clean Economy

Melissa Romero Senior Legislative Manager California Environmental Voters

Scarlett Russell
Programs Coordinator
California Nurses for Environmental Health and Justice

Roger Lin Senior Attorney Center for Biological Diversity

Marven Norman
Policy Coordinator
Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice (CCAEJ)

Jose Torre-Bueno Executive Director Center for Community Energy

Kevin D Hamilton Executive Director Central California Asthma Collaborative

Ana Rosa Rizo-Centino Network Manager Central Coast Climate Justice Network

David N. Patterson, P.E., Executive Director CHAdeMO Association

Roger Dickinson Policy Director CivicWell

Craig Lewis
Executive Director
Clean Coalition

Suzanne Hume Educational Director & Founder CleanEarth4Kids.org

Janet Cox CEO Climate Action California Sara Zimmerman
Executive Director
Climate Equity Policy Center

Glen Garfunkel Co-Chair Climate Reality Project (Silicon Valley Chapter)

Bill Magavern Policy Director Coalition for Clean Air

Johannes Troost Board Member Cool Davis

John Sarter West Coast Onboarding and Support Lead DCBEL

Lori Pesante Civic Engagement Director Dolores Huerta Foundation

Dan Silver Executive Director Endangered Habitats League

Laura Deehan State Director Environment California

Bill Allayaud California Director of Government Affairs Environmental Working Group

Alon Doron President EV-SEg Jeannine Pearce Founder Fierce Courage Consulting

Miriam Eide Coordinating Director Fossil Free California

Jim Lindburg Legislative Consultant Friends Committee on Legislation of California

Alicia Hamann Executive Director Friends of the Eel River

Andrea Marpillero-Colomina Sustainable Communities Program Director GreenLatinos

Caroline Henderson Project Lead California Climate Campaign, Greenpeace USA

Zainab Badi Workforce Policy Project Manager GRID Alternatives

Greg Rosen Founder & Principal High Noon Advisors

Russell Hancock President & Chief Executive Officer Joint Venture Silicon Valley

David J Harris Owner Legacy Solutions Benjamin Eichert Director Let's Green CA!

Jessica Tovar Lead Organizer Local Clean Energy Alliance

Adam Lane Vice President, Government Affairs Los Angeles Business Council

Steve Bardwell President Morongo Basin Conservation Association

Cecelia Sullivan President North Bay Electric Auto Association

Steve Letendre VP Policy and Regulatory Affairs NUVVE

Debbie Mytels Chair Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action (PICA)

Ingrid Malmgren Policy Director Plug In America

Gopal Shanker President Récolte Energy

Kathy Schaeffer Legislative Coordinator San Fernando Valley Climate Reality Robert M. Gould, MD

President

San Francisco Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility

Rachel Altman

Administrator

Santa Barbara Standing Rock Coalition

Pauline Seales

Organizer

Santa Cruz Climate Action Network

Sakereh Carter Senior Policy Advocate Sierra Club CA

Amanda Bancroft

President

Silicon Valley Youth Climate Action

Shoshana Wechsler

Co-Coordinator

Sunflower Alliance

Stuart Wood PhD

Executive Director

Sustainable Claremont

Robert Perry

Principal Analyst

Synergistic Solutions

Manuel J. Espinosa

Principal

The Phoenix Group

Daniel Barad

Western States Policy Manager

Union of Concerned Scientists

Evan Minton CA State Policy & Programmatic Manager Voices for Progress

Rinaldo Brutoco President World Business Academy

Lynne Nittler Current Leader Yolo Interfaith Alliance for Climate Justice